League of Legends introduces newest champion, Aphelios

Aphelios splash artwork

League of Legends players have one more reason to look forward to 2020 as Riot Games announced the latest champion to hit the Rift, Aphelios, the Weapon of the Faithful. Though Aphelios is a marksman, there is much more to this Targonian Lunari than meets the eye.

During a rare celestial event, Aphelios was born along with his twin sister, Alune. While Alune spent her life harnessing the moon’s magical light to reveal hidden pathways and truth, Aphelios dedicated his efforts towards protecting the Lunari. When the Solari converged upon an ancient temple to battle the unprepared Lunari, Aphelios fell in battle but his sister sacrificed herself to the spiritual world to save him.

At the start of each League of Legends match, Aphelios consumes a poison to communicate with his sister. She sends him an arsenal of magic-infused weapons in order to be able to fight. However, the poison tightens his throat and he is unable to speak. His only form of communication is through a powerful, psychic connection with Alune.

Aphelios brings an extremely complex kit along with him to the Rift, with five different weapons, each with their own basic attack and Q ability. He attacks with his main hand weapon, but he can also attack with a secondary weapon in his off-hand, using W. Adding to the complexity of this character, Aphelios is unable to choose which two weapons he can use. Each weapon is loaded with 50 ammo (or “moonlight”) and when the weapon runs out, it automatically switches to the next in line.

His ultimate ability is called Moonlight Vigil, which fires a ball of energy towards a target and explodes upon impact, dealing AOE damage to all enemies within its area. Afterward, his basic attacks will have a bonus effect added based on which weapon Aphelios is holding in his main hand.

In his arsenal, Aphelios holds the following five weapons with a specific bonus effect:

  • Calibrum, the Rifle (basic attacks have extra range)
  • Severum, the Scythe Pistol (basic attacks heal Aphelios)
  • Gravitum, the Cannon (basic attacks slow enemies)
  • Infernum, the Flamethrower (basic attacks deal AD as well as AOE damage)
  • Crescendum, the Chakram (basic attacks act like a boomerang)

League of Legends introduces newest champion, Aphelios 1

Because of his extremely unique kit, League of Legends had to release a specific HUD just for this champion. His skill level will undoubtedly be high, with Riot describing Aphelios as “the Yasuo of 200 IQ, galaxy brain plays.”

Aphelios will be fully released on the next patch, 9.24. Along with the new champion comes more additions to the Dawnbringer and Nightbringer skin lines. Karma and Nidalee will have new Dawnbringer skins released for them, while Lee Sin and Vladimir will have Nightbringer skins. Lee Sin’s Nightbringer skin will also have a Prestige edition available. Soraka will have both a Dawnbringer and Nightbringer skin option and becomes the third support in the game to have dual skins, along with Leona and Blitzcrank.

Watch Riot’s official champion trailer for Aphelios: The Weapon of the Faithful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *